Castle Seasons 1-6 Review

Featured image

                  I really am ruggedly handsome, aren’t I ? – Richard Castle

ABC’s Castle is about a mystery writer called Richard Castle (Nathan Fillion) who has just killed of his bestselling series’  lead character Derrick Storm and is looking for inspiration. And it comes to him in the form of Kate Beckett (Stana Katic) who is in charge of a case in which Castle’s expertise has been sought because it concerns a serial killer who modus operandi is similar to that of the murders in Castle’s novels. And thus begins, the crime solving partnership of Kate Beckett and Richard Castle which gradually culminates into a romantic relationship. The sitcom is also about Beckett’s mother’s murder investigation which forms the plot of various episodes in these seasons.

It is with great joy that I write this review. Castle is 2nd on my list of the greatest sitcoms of all time. (Sherlock is the 1st) This sitcom is very very personal to me. I actually got into watching sitcoms by watching ‘The Simpsons’. The Simpsons had a slot time of 3:30-4:00 pm after which I went to my tutions. But, it was later shifted to 4:00-4:30 pm slot. So, I had nothing to watch and one day, I decided to watch a episode of every other show on other channels and to my great luck, the first one I saw was Castle and I loved it.

I began watching this Show from season 3 after which it became my daily cocaine. It became part of daily routine to watch Castle for mystery and comedy are two genres that I love and Castle is the most wittiest and suspenseful show I have ever seen.

The acting is brilliant. Rick Castle, along with Holmes, is the coolest TV character of all time. A humorous genius, what else do we need ?!!!! And here comes Kate Beckett, the super-cool dashing cop genius who just proves every time that none of her male counterparts are a match to her. The supporting characters like Castle’s daughter Alexis and his mother Martha, the detectives Esposito and Ryan, the chief Capt.Montgomery and Capt.Victoria Gates and the forensics expert Lanie, they are AWESOME

The series is so well written and directed. The episodes of Beckett’s mom’s murder are so sophisticated and the truth of it just blew me away. The series did a very wise move of spreading it across all the seasons that by the time the revelation came, the audience was blown away because of the tension built over all the seasons like the sitcom ‘The Fugitive’. Another example of an amaze balls script was that of the Linchpin conspiracy episodes which began as an simple investigation but leaded to a worldwide conspiracy which could lead to the most catastrophic event the world has witnessed. It was better than most of the conspiracy theory movies that I have watched. I was speechless after watching those two episodes and they just cemented my love for this series.

The chemistry between Stana and Nathan is so awesome that if you watch this sitcom from season 1 episode wise, from the end of season 2 you would be like ‘Are they getting together in this one?’ at the beginning of every episode. And the tension built up and up every season until their relationship started in the most perfect way ever and I was cheering that whole scene.

And one thing that I find very under appreciated about this sitcom is its score. It is so quirky and so romantic and so tragic when its needs to. Here’s a link to one of the score by the genius composer of this series Robert Duncan from the episode ‘Always’ and judge for yourselves https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFAlpdpNvzo

On a more personal note, I connected with this series. And the time I began watching it, I was very lonely. It felt like I had no one to talk to and this series actually rescued me from that loneliness. The characters became my family and I became happy when they became happy and I was sad when they were sad. I actually posted pictures of this series’  characters in a notebook and I talked to them, and I told them everything and that made me feel better. I attribute my love for movies and sitcoms to Castle because after watching Castle did I realize that I had found my new passion.

This series is one hell of a watch, and has everything-awesome performances, brilliant screenplay, prodigious direction, stupendous editing and a breathtaking score. It is a must watch and you would be doing a crime to yourself if you miss this sitcom.

Rating: 9.8/10

THANKS FOR READING. IF YOU HAVE LIKED/HAVE DIFFERENT VIEWS/HAVE ANY  DOUBTS, PLEASE SHARE. I WILL RESPOND TO IT AS SOON AS I CAN. AND PLEASE SUBSCRIBE FOR MORE. YOU CAN FOLLOW ME ON MY FACEBOOK PAGE TOO            https://www.facebook.com/pages/Demanded-Critical-Reviews/1565666967024477?ref=hl YOU CAN ALSO E-MAIL ME ON castlebang786@gmail.com OR favebook2011@rediffmail.com

Leave a Reply

