Quentin Tarantino- A Memoir

Featured image

Quentin Tarantino has his own share of haters and lovers- I belong to the latter. I love Quentin Tarantino ! I have begun making a ‘My Favourite Movies’ List and if my favourite film-maker is decided on the basis of the movies they have in my favourite movies list, four director take the 1st spot: Steven Spielberg (Schindler’s List Last Crusade, Raiders of the Lost Ark), Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings trilogy), Ron Howard (Rush, The Da Vinci Code, A Beautiful Mind), Christopher Nolan (The Dark Knight, Inception, Interstellar), David Fincher (Zodiac, Se7en and The Social Network) and Quentin Tarantino (Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, Django Unchained) . I am sure that Steven Spielberg will take the first spot gradually, well because I haven’t watched Jaws, Jurassic Park, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Munich, E.T (yeah,kill me!) and also the fact that I am still in a debacle of whether I should include Lincoln in my list. Ron Howard may also get in there because I am in a fix whether to include Angels and Demons and Nolan too has got a chance with the remaining parts of  the Dark Knight and Prestige, but Tarantino is one of the most special ones.

Quentin Tarantino had very humble beginnings. He loved movies since he was a teenager. He dropped out of high school and took up a job at a video store which gave him a lot of time to work on a script he had in his mind and from that customer-less video store did we get the masterpiece ‘Reservoir Dogs’ .

I don’t particularly like violence, I despise action movies and I oppose profanity in movies. And a Quentin Tarantino movie has all of that, and I still consider them great. That speaks a lot for itself. My first acquaintance with Tarantino came along with a newspaper article from a guy who loved the violence in Tarantino. Naturally, I despised him and googled Tarantino and the first thing that came alone was Reservoir Dogs and Pulp Fiction.

I chose Reservoir Dogs, it was only 90 minutes long. I thought it would be easy to bear a short horrible movie with people killing each other, dudes yelling ‘ mother……’ in every sentence and a stupid plot. Instead, I got a movie I was literally blown over by. It sort of made me ignore the profanities in every sentence and the violence throughout the movie. How do you make a movie about a bank-heist without showing the bank-heist and still make it awesome? Ask Tarantino. The movie was so stylish. Ah, the style, in Tarantino movies ! Like the boys walking down the street in the opening, it was good ! It was very fortunate the script of the movie reached the hands of Harvey Keitel with which began the Tarantino- Avary gang which shook the 90’s. The movie actually gave an emotional side to it with Harvey Keitel and Tim Roth and had a perfect plot and is now considered the greatest independent movie of all time. And after watching the movie did I come to know that it was Tarantino’s debut feature. And if someone’s debut feature is a movie like that, you know something great’s coming up from this guy. (Exception, M.N.Shyamalan- He made the Sixth Sense and Signs, and then what happened is a bigger mystery than the Holy Grail)

Reservoir Dogs released and received mixed reviews. Ebert didn’t like it and if you read the original reviews of Reservoir Dogs by many critics, half of the total content of the review is about the ear-cutting scene, which was not even shown on screen. The movie was considered an attempt to glorify violence but that actually helped because all the dudes went to see the movie and they liked it and started the word-of-mouth publicity of Reservoir Dogs which culminated into the movie being a financial success at the box-office . The movie achieved a cult status and paved the formation of Tarantino fans. The critics too later praised the movie later and accepted that many of them weren’t ready for the non-conventional story telling. After watching Reservoir Dogs, I surprisingly gave Tarantino the license to use all that I despise.

Then, in 1994 came ‘Pulp Fiction’. The movie, along with ‘The Shawshank Redemption’ and ‘Forrest Gump’ was the most influential movie of the 90’s. Every aspect of this black-comedy crime drama was acclaimed. Roger Ebert gave it a 4-rating and added it to his ‘Great Movies’ list. Every critic loved it. I loved it the first time I saw it. But, it did make me wonder, why is it regarded Tarantino’s best? This thought dragged me into a second viewing of the movie and I got my answer. I loved it more the second time. This movie is made for second viewing. Which movie has the best dialogues in cinematic history ? – Pulp Fiction. They are so quotable. I love saying that dialogue of Yolanda over and over again ” If any of you fu….. pricks move, and I’ll execute every mother……. last one of you”. That dialogue followed by the ‘Taxi’ theme, it doesn’t get cooler than this. You actually become afraid of Jules because in the scene when Butch enters his flat and (Spoiler), I was like ‘Get out there ! Get out of there ! If Vincent’s there, so must be Jules’. Every scene is iconic in this classic. In privacy, I love to imitate Vincent’s moves in the dance scene. And, it is very funny. That scene when Vincent gives Mia adrenalin is one of the funniest scenes I have ever scene and also the aftermath of the scene is also very funny. And it was the worst decision of the Academy to give the Best Picture to Forrest Gump. I wouldn’t have minded Shawshank getting it, but really ?

Then, came the Kill Bill series and Jackie Brown and Four Rooms and Inglorious Basterds, which I cannot write about because unfortunately, I still haven’t got my hands on them. But, these movies cemented Tarantino’s position as one of the greatest film-makers of all time and Jackie Brown made him a critical favourite too.

But then came Django Unchained, Tarantino’s spaghetti western which proved out to be a great critical and commercial success. The movie gained Tarantino his second Oscar for best screenplay, and the movie got a Best Picture nomination too. This movie is undoubtedly one of the coolest movies of all time. The performances in this movie are splendid and this time, the supporting actors outshone the leading man. Christopher Waltz and Leonardo Dicaprio were terrifying in their roles and ‘The Good,The Bad,The Ugly’ influence sparkles throughout the movie. And dialogues were a treat, especially ‘I like the way you die boy’. This movie was one hell of a watch.

Tarantino makes movies as a movie lover. Once he got his license to continue making movies his style, he put in his movies all that he ever wanted to see in a movie and just shoved it in our faces and said ‘This is my type of movie and you either like it or you do not’. And everyone loved the end-product.

Tarantino is undoubtedly one of the greatest film-makers and one of my favourite film-makers all time. And this is to Tarantino haters ‘You may not love his movies, but can you deny his influence in the world of cinema? ‘

THANKS FOR READING. IF YOU HAVE LIKED/HAVE DIFFERENT VIEWS/HAVE ANY  DOUBTS, PLEASE SHARE. I WILL RESPOND TO IT AS SOON AS I CAN. AND PLEASE SUBSCRIBE FOR MORE. YOU CAN FOLLOW ME ON MY FACEBOOK PAGE TOO https://www.facebook.com/pages/Demanded-Critical-Reviews/1565666967024477?ref=hl YOU CAN ALSO E-MAIL ME ON castlebang786@gmail.com OR favebook2011@rediffmail.com .

Leave a Reply

