Schindler’s List Review

Featured image

Power is when we have every justification to kill, and we don’t – Oskar Schindler

Steven Spielberg’s Schindler’s List is about Oskar Schindler, a Nazi party supporter who cares about only two things – money and women. He starts an enamelware factory using the help of a Jewish accountant Itzhak Stern who gains the factory the investments of Jewish businessmen. But, Oskar is actually helping his 1200 workers by providing them security and food and shelter, even bribing Nazi officials to bring in more Jews to protect their lives. Oskar also forms an friendship with the Head Commander of the ghetto Amon Goeth (Ralph Fiennes) who enjoys killing Jews and constantly tries to figure out Schindler’s real intentions.

This is not my conventional type of review because Schindler’s List is my all-time favourite movie and also this review contains a few f-words. See, there are many types of movies and you may end up hating them, not give a damn about them or love them and I have experienced all that but Schindler’s List is a movie that I ‘RESPECT’. I respect this movie, and I swear to God if someone insults this movie, I will give him a good one on the face.

Schindler’s List is very long, I give you that. It is black-and-white and is actually shot in documentary style. See, I recommend this movie to everyone, and I know that 99% of them won’t watch it maybe because it is not mindless cinema. So, I actually have a friend who loves movies and sitcoms and I saw a opportunity there. So, I invited him to my house and asked him to watch it with me. And it was a horrible experience. He seemed so uninterested. He tried to fast-forward it and even pointed out that there should have been more violence and that the movie should have been more lively like The Theory of Everything. How the fuck do you suppose a movie about the Holocaust to be lively? And this is not The Walking Dead that you can have gory violence throughout the movie? And the movie, despite being a Holocaust movie, has humorous jokes throughout it which you notice if you watch it with concentration.

This movie has the best performances in cinematic history. Ralph Fiennes is phenomenal in this movie. He is my favourite villain along with Joker in cinema. And Spielberg doesn’t show like a complete villain, he makes you pity the character. He brings about his human side by showing his love for Helen Hirsch. Liam Neeson is transcendent. He has destroyed many a things with his action movies, but I watch this movie to remember that there is still an actor in him. He is great. I boycotted the Academy Awards for 3 years after learning that Fiennes hadn’t won the Oscar.

This movie is gut-wrenching. I remember watching it the first time. I was so engrossed in the movie. Some idiots argue that we don’t understand that Schindler just changes from a greedy womanizer to a man who just begins to care for his Jews. Well, they should have been fucking blind throughout the movie because Schindler is changing and you can see it throughout the movie and I could feel the man becoming into a compassionate human being. I was just watching it and in the climax when Stern gives that ring to Schindler and says, ‘The man who saves a life saves a life, saves the world entire.’ And I suddenly began crying so hard and I didn’t stop till 15 minutes. It was the most I had cried at a movie. Then, I realized how much this movie had affected me. I was so terrified at the slaughter of Jews, I didn’t speak to anyone for a week. And, till my death, this is going to remain my all-time favourite movie. There are only few movies that affected my life or thoughts: The Shawshank Redemption, Good Will Hunting, Schindler’s List ,Taare Zameen Par and Indiana Jones series.

The direction of this movie is impeccable. Steven Spielberg sprinkles two secret ingredients into this movie without which this flick would have been a start-to-end depressing movie : Hope and humanity. Every miniscule expression of the actors is flaunted by Spielberg, and he doesn’t just show the massacre, he shows Schindler’s redemption and the friendship between Schindler & Stern and Schindler & Goeth.

The score of this movie is the best movie score in history. I cry every time I hear that main theme by Perlman and Williams. That score is so depressing, yet at the beginning of it, there is hope sparkled just like the movie itself.

I even cried while watching the video of Spielberg win the Best Director Oscar. I cried so hard, believe me !

This movie is a masterpiece which should be a mandatory watch for every human being and is flawless in every aspect.

Rating: 10/10

THANKS FOR READING. IF YOU HAVE LIKED/HAVE DIFFERENT VIEWS/HAVE ANY  DOUBTS, PLEASE SHARE. I WILL RESPOND TO IT AS SOON AS I CAN. AND PLEASE SUBSCRIBE FOR MORE. YOU CAN FOLLOW ME ON MY FACEBOOK PAGE TOO https://www.facebook.com/pages/Demanded-Critical-Reviews/1565666967024477?ref=hl YOU CAN ALSO E-MAIL ME ON castlebang786@gmail.com OR favebook2011@rediffmail.com.

Leave a Reply

