King Of Comedy Review

Featured image

  Better be king for a night than a schmuck for a lifetime – Rupert Pupkin

Martin Scorsese’s black comedy The King of Comedy is about Rupert Pupkin (Robert De Niro) who is a failure in life and is a psychopath who hosts an imaginary talk show in his mother’s basement. And to make this dream a reality, Rupert needs a big break and hopes to get it by appearing with his stand up act on the famous ‘The Jerry Langford Show’. But, Jerry Langford (Jerry Lewis) isn’t interested in Pupkin. So, Pupkin starts stalking Jerry and when his repeated requests to appear on the show are declined by Jerry, Rupert and Masha (Sandra Bernhard), another stalker of Jerry, get together and do something that will satisfy the needs of both of them. The movie also focuses on Pupkin’s repeated efforts to make the local bartender Rita Keane (Diahnne Abbott) fall in love with him.

This movie is unlike any other Scorsese movie. This maybe the most humorous movie by Scorsese, but I cannot say that surely because I haven’t watched The Wolf Of Wall Street because of its hard-R rating. Quite honestly, I am not a fan of Scorsese, but maybe that may change when I get older. Although I don’t mind Tarantino using them, but I don’t like profanities in every sentence, sensual content and drug use and extreme gory violence in movies. I have watched The Departed and I think it is one of the most overrated movies of all time, it sucks. I then watched Shutter Island, which was a brilliant work of art. But, the King of Comedy has entered my ‘Favourite Movies’ list.

What a glorious movie ! I have to thank Edward Norton for this movie because I came to know about this movie from one of his interviews. The King of Comedy maintains a sublime level of darkness and comedy, just like Jaws. The movie is hilarious and the last act of De Niro is awesome. I didn’t saw Robert De Niro in the movie, I saw Rupert Pupkin. And that was a great performance. He is perfect as Rupert. He deserved an Oscar Nomination for this role and it is undoubtedly one of the greatest performances of all time. I don’t know how Scorsese did it but I was laughing so hard in some moments and in the next moment, I was really disturbed with Pupkin’s actions. The movie is undoubtedly very disturbing, and that is one of the reasons that I couldn’t take my eyes off the screen.

The direction by Martin Scorsese is stupendous. It was like it wasn’t a movie, it was happening before my own eyes. He has shot the television scenes brilliantly. And if you have watched this flick, you may remember there was a glass reflection scene which was amazing.

The King of Comedy is very disturbing but is hilarious in its own extent. If you are a fan of Scorsese’s trademark styles of film-making, you will be disappointed but to an average film viewer this flick is a treat. And if for nothing, watch it for De Niro’s performance and one of the best movie climaxes of all time.

Rating : 9 / 10

THANKS FOR READING. IF YOU HAVE LIKED/HAVE DIFFERENT VIEWS/HAVE ANY  DOUBTS, PLEASE SHARE. I WILL RESPOND TO IT AS SOON AS I CAN. AND PLEASE SUBSCRIBE FOR MORE. YOU CAN FOLLOW ME ON MY FACEBOOK PAGE TOO  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Demanded-Critical-Reviews/1565666967024477?ref=hl YOU CAN ALSO E-MAIL ME ON castlebang786@gmail.com OR favebook2011@rediffmail.com .

Leave a Reply

